Mission Statement

To Submit Content

Cameron Museum Opened
Scottish World
June 1989

The fulfillment of a project started in 1987 was witnessed by a gathering of well over one hundred on the first day of May when a Clan Cameron museum was officially opened by Sir Fitzroy Maclean of Dunconnel.  The museum is situated a short distance from Achnacarry, the ancestral home of Sir Donald Cameron of Lochiel, 26th Chief of Clan Cameron.  The project was started in 1987 by Donald Cameron, Yr of Lochiel, and his wife, Lady Cecil Cameron, with the support and encouragement of Lochiel and Lady Cameron.

A semi-derelict 17th century listed building, partially burned by Cumberland's soldiers in 1746, has been transformed into a fascinating museum embracing Cameron memorabilia, Jacobite displays and exhibits from the Queens Own Cameron Highlanders and the Commandos, who trained at Achnacarry during World War II.

"We had been thinking about the possibility of a Cameron Museum for some time" said Lochiel, "and clansfolk overseas were very enthusiastic about the idea.  Indeed, many of them have given generously towards the cost of the museum, as have family and friends and organizations such as the HIDB."

The museum tells the story of Clan Cameron from its origin to the present day.  Exhibits include Bonnie Prince Charlie's waistcoat, the Bible of the Gentle Lochiel (of 1745 fame) with all references to the Hanoverians scored out, stirrups and spurs found on Culloden field and other unique Jacobite mementoes.  Also on display is one of the last kilts worn in action - by a Cameron Highlander at Dunkirk in 1940.